Skip to end of metadata
Go to start of metadata

The Delete File operation or delete file functionality deletes the data object / checksum, identified by the given an file ID, from the bit repository.

It may only delete the data on certain pillars if this is specified explicitly.

Delete file can be used as part of a Replace File operation. In connection with integrity corrective action the possibility of deleting an object on just one pillar may be needed. An actual delete of an object will be a delete of all copies in the bit repository.

The Delete operation will given an ID, delete the bits (full copy or checksum) identified from the repository or from the specified pillar. The delete protocol functionality requires checksum data to assure the correct file is deleted, but it does not provide a roll-back functionality. It is assumed that this is part of the service level agreement and requires manual intervention.

Delete File User Stories

What are the user stories of the delete functionality?

Delete File Communications

Delete File Communication uses the general communication pattern with an IdentifyPillarsForDelete and a Delete Primitive.

Delete File Pillar Requirements

TBD

Delete File Design Decisions

Summary: A manual roll-back possibility can be written into a Service Level Agreement.

Delete File Design Discussions

The undelete discussion has ended with an agreement that a manual roll-back possibility can be written into the SLA.

  • UndeleteConsiderations to undelete; part of the two-phase commit analysis BITMAG-68@JIRA

Delete File Unresolved Issues

  • No labels